Short answer: SBI has the lowest published gold loan rate (9.15% for a 12-month bullet loan) and no foreclosure charge, but lends from ₹20,000, lends less per gram (about 65% to 74% of value) and may need income proof above ₹2.5 lakh. Muthoot lends from ₹1,500, closer to RBI’s maximum LTV, with doorstep service.

Last verified: 12 October 2026 from each company’s official website and, where marked, its Google Play listing. Rates and fees change; the lender’s Key Fact Statement (KFS) and loan agreement decide your actual terms. FundsTiger does not rank lenders.

SBI Gold Loan vs Muthoot Finance at a glance

SBI Gold LoanMuthoot Finance
TypePublic sector bankRBI-registered NBFC (gold loan specialist)
Loan amount₹20,000 to ₹50 lakh (one FAQ says up to ₹1 crore)From ₹1,500; no fixed maximum (some schemes up to ₹5 crore)
Interest rate9.15% (12-month bullet) to 10.10% (EMI and overdraft), as on 16 June 2026From 9% a year if interest is paid monthly; compounded monthly; scheme rates not published
Loan-to-value (LTV)Margin of 35% (bullet), 28% (EMI), 26% (overdraft), i.e. about 65% to 74%Not stated on its pages; RBI caps it at 85% up to ₹2.5 lakh
Processing fee and charges0.25% to 0.50% (pages differ); 0.25% for ₹50,000 to ₹2 lakh, minimum ₹250 + GSTNo processing fee listed; 1% service charge on some 12-month loans (South), 0.15% security charge elsewhere (₹100 to ₹1,000)
Tenure12 months (bullet); up to 36 months (EMI and overdraft)12 months for the normal scheme
Repayment optionsEMI, 12-month bullet, overdraft (Liquid Gold Loan)Monthly EMI, bullet, part-payment
Gold accepted22, 20 and 18 carat ornaments; bank-sold coins (no bars)18 to 22 carat jewellery or coins
Closing earlyNo prepayment or foreclosure chargeNo foreclosure charge; pay interest to date
BranchesSBI branch networkBranches across major states (count not stated)
Online and doorstepApply online or via YONO; gold valued at the branchGold Loan@Home (up to ₹500 charge); online top-ups via iMuthoot
Also worth knowingLowest headline rate of the four; Income proof needed above ₹2.5 lakh (pages differ)Same-day disbursal in branch; Several schemes priced by ticket size

RBI limits apply to every regulated lender: from April 2026, a gold loan for personal use can be at most 85% of the gold’s value up to ₹2.5 lakh, 80% from ₹2.5 lakh to ₹5 lakh and 75% above, with interest due at maturity counted for bullet loans. Lenders can lend less. Check how much your gold can raise with our gold loan calculator.

What a ₹1 lakh gold loan for 12 months would cost

We costed the same loan on each lender’s published rates, assuming you pay interest every month and repay the principal at the end. Paying interest less often, or compounding, raises the cost.

LenderScenarioRate a yearInterest for the yearFeesTotal cost
SBI Gold Loan12-month bullet rate9.15%₹9,150₹295₹9,445
SBI Gold LoanEMI rate10.1%₹10,100₹295₹10,395
Muthoot FinanceMinimum rate, interest paid monthly9%₹9,000See charges above₹9,000 + any charges

Key differences

Which should you choose?

SBI Gold Loan may suit you if you want a predictable published rate and do not need the maximum amount per gram.

Muthoot Finance may suit you if you need a small or urgent loan, or the most money for your gold.

Whichever you pick, compare the APR in the KFS you are actually offered, not the advertised starting rate.

Before you apply

Want to see offers from several RBI-regulated lenders in one place?

Frequently asked questions

Is a bank gold loan cheaper than an NBFC gold loan?

SBI’s published rates (9.15% to 10.10%) are among the lowest. NBFC rates start close to that but rise by scheme and payment frequency.

Why does SBI lend less per gram?

SBI keeps a margin of 26% to 35% of the gold’s value depending on the loan type, which is more conservative than RBI’s maximum.

Are these lenders RBI-regulated?

The loans described here are given by RBI-registered NBFCs or banks named in the table. Check the lender named in your loan agreement on RBI’s digital lending app list.

Where do these figures come from?

From each company’s official website and, where noted, its Google Play listing, checked on 12 October 2026. Where a company’s own pages disagree, we show both figures.

Sources

Read more: Gold loan rates of 10 lenders · Gold loan calculator · All loan app reviews · Lender directory

More comparisons: Muthoot Finance vs Manappuram Finance · Muthoot Finance vs IIFL Gold Loan · Manappuram Finance vs IIFL Gold Loan · Rupeek vs Muthoot Finance · Rupeek vs Manappuram Finance · Muthoot FinCorp vs Muthoot Finance · HDFC Bank Gold Loan vs SBI Gold Loan · HDFC Bank Gold Loan vs Muthoot Finance · ICICI Bank Gold Loan vs Manappuram Finance · Federal Bank Gold Loan vs SBI Gold Loan · Kotak Gold Loan vs Muthoot Finance · KreditBee vs Moneyview · True Balance vs KreditBee · Rupee112 vs Loan112 · HDFC Bank vs Bajaj Finance · Bajaj Finance vs Tata Capital · HDFC Bank LAS vs ICICI Bank LAS · ICICI Insta FlexiCash vs Axis 24×7 FlexiCredit · Refyne vs Jify · All loan comparisons

Disclosure: FundsTiger (Gatimaan Finance Advisors Pvt. Ltd.) is a loan marketplace and lending service provider for RBI-regulated lenders. Aparampaar Finance Pvt. Ltd. (Omozing), one of those lenders, is a related party of FundsTiger. This article is general information, not financial advice. Read your loan agreement and KFS before you decide.