Short answer: Muthoot FinCorp and Muthoot Finance are different companies. Muthoot Finance publishes a lower starting rate (9% a year if interest is paid monthly) and lends from ₹1,500; Muthoot FinCorp starts at about 12%, lends from ₹1,000, and offers EMI and daily-instalment schemes of 3 to 24 months.

Last verified: 12 October 2026 from each company’s official website and, where marked, its Google Play listing. Rates and fees change; the lender’s Key Fact Statement (KFS) and loan agreement decide your actual terms. FundsTiger does not rank lenders.

Muthoot FinCorp vs Muthoot Finance at a glance

Muthoot FinCorpMuthoot Finance
TypeRBI-registered NBFC (Muthoot Pappachan Group; separate company from Muthoot Finance)RBI-registered NBFC (gold loan specialist)
Loan amountFrom ₹1,000; no fixed maximumFrom ₹1,500; no fixed maximum (some schemes up to ₹5 crore)
Interest rateFrom 11.99% to 12% a year (pages differ); scheme rates not publishedFrom 9% a year if interest is paid monthly; compounded monthly; scheme rates not published
Loan-to-value (LTV)Up to 75% of the gold’s value (branch page)Not stated on its pages; RBI caps it at 85% up to ₹2.5 lakh
Processing fee and chargesFrom ₹20, depending on schemeNo processing fee listed; 1% service charge on some 12-month loans (South), 0.15% security charge elsewhere (₹100 to ₹1,000)
TenureEMI schemes of 3 to 24 months; daily EDI options12 months for the normal scheme
Repayment optionsEMI, daily EDI, online renewal and repledgeMonthly EMI, bullet, part-payment
Gold acceptedNot published (calculator uses 22 carat)18 to 22 carat jewellery or coins
Closing earlyNot publishedNo foreclosure charge; pay interest to date
Branches3,700+ branches (pages also say 3,800+ and 4,500+)Branches across major states (count not stated)
Online and doorstepAt Home service with insured transit; online renewals in the Muthoot FinCorp One appGold Loan@Home (up to ₹500 charge); online top-ups via iMuthoot
Also worth knowingSchemes for first-time borrowers and traders; Co-lending with DCB Bank, UCO Bank and Bank of MaharashtraSame-day disbursal in branch; Several schemes priced by ticket size

RBI limits apply to every regulated lender: from April 2026, a gold loan for personal use can be at most 85% of the gold’s value up to ₹2.5 lakh, 80% from ₹2.5 lakh to ₹5 lakh and 75% above, with interest due at maturity counted for bullet loans. Lenders can lend less. Check how much your gold can raise with our gold loan calculator.

What a ₹1 lakh gold loan for 12 months would cost

We costed the same loan on each lender’s published rates, assuming you pay interest every month and repay the principal at the end. Paying interest less often, or compounding, raises the cost.

LenderScenarioRate a yearInterest for the yearFeesTotal cost
Muthoot FinCorpLowest published rate11.99%₹11,990See charges above₹11,990 + any charges
Muthoot FinanceMinimum rate, interest paid monthly9%₹9,000See charges above₹9,000 + any charges

Key differences

Which should you choose?

Muthoot FinCorp may suit you if you want to repay in EMIs or daily instalments over up to 2 years.

Muthoot Finance may suit you if you want the lower published starting rate.

Whichever you pick, compare the APR in the KFS you are actually offered, not the advertised starting rate.

Before you apply

Want to see offers from several RBI-regulated lenders in one place?

Frequently asked questions

Are Muthoot FinCorp and Muthoot Finance the same?

No. They are separate companies run by different branches of the Muthoot family. Check the company name on your pledge receipt.

Which has more branches?

Muthoot FinCorp states 3,700+ branches. Muthoot Finance does not give a count on the pages we checked.

Are these lenders RBI-regulated?

The loans described here are given by RBI-registered NBFCs or banks named in the table. Check the lender named in your loan agreement on RBI’s digital lending app list.

Where do these figures come from?

From each company’s official website and, where noted, its Google Play listing, checked on 12 October 2026. Where a company’s own pages disagree, we show both figures.

Sources

Read more: Gold loan rates of 10 lenders · Gold loan calculator · All loan app reviews · Lender directory

More comparisons: Muthoot Finance vs Manappuram Finance · Muthoot Finance vs IIFL Gold Loan · Manappuram Finance vs IIFL Gold Loan · SBI Gold Loan vs Muthoot Finance · Rupeek vs Muthoot Finance · Rupeek vs Manappuram Finance · HDFC Bank Gold Loan vs SBI Gold Loan · HDFC Bank Gold Loan vs Muthoot Finance · ICICI Bank Gold Loan vs Manappuram Finance · Federal Bank Gold Loan vs SBI Gold Loan · Kotak Gold Loan vs Muthoot Finance · KreditBee vs Moneyview · True Balance vs KreditBee · Rupee112 vs Loan112 · HDFC Bank vs Bajaj Finance · Bajaj Finance vs Tata Capital · HDFC Bank LAS vs ICICI Bank LAS · ICICI Insta FlexiCash vs Axis 24×7 FlexiCredit · Refyne vs Jify · All loan comparisons

Disclosure: FundsTiger (Gatimaan Finance Advisors Pvt. Ltd.) is a loan marketplace and lending service provider for RBI-regulated lenders. Aparampaar Finance Pvt. Ltd. (Omozing), one of those lenders, is a related party of FundsTiger. This article is general information, not financial advice. Read your loan agreement and KFS before you decide.