Short answer: Rupeek is mainly a platform: it arranges gold loans from partner banks such as Federal Bank, collects your gold at your door and stores it in the bank’s vault, and also lends through its own NBFC, Rupeek Capital. Muthoot Finance is a direct NBFC lender with a published 9% minimum rate and loans from ₹1,500. Rupeek does not publish a rate table.
Last verified: 12 October 2026 from each company’s official website and, where marked, its Google Play listing. Rates and fees change; the lender’s Key Fact Statement (KFS) and loan agreement decide your actual terms. FundsTiger does not rank lenders.
Rupeek vs Muthoot Finance at a glance
| Rupeek | Muthoot Finance | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Gold loan platform (Rupeek Fintech) working with partner banks, and its own NBFC Rupeek Capital | RBI-registered NBFC (gold loan specialist) |
| Loan amount | ₹30,000 to ₹1.5 crore | From ₹1,500; no fixed maximum (some schemes up to ₹5 crore) |
| Interest rate | Set by the partner lender; no rate table published (site mentions rates “as low as 0.89%”, period not stated) | From 9% a year if interest is paid monthly; compounded monthly; scheme rates not published |
| Loan-to-value (LTV) | Up to 75% of market value (site), “at times up to 90%” | Not stated on its pages; RBI caps it at 85% up to ₹2.5 lakh |
| Processing fee and charges | Site says zero processing fee in places and “among the lowest” in others; no figure published | No processing fee listed; 1% service charge on some 12-month loans (South), 0.15% security charge elsewhere (₹100 to ₹1,000) |
| Tenure | 6 to 12 months; no lock-in | 12 months for the normal scheme |
| Repayment options | Monthly interest, bullet or part-payment | Monthly EMI, bullet, part-payment |
| Gold accepted | 18 carat and above (jewellery only) | 18 to 22 carat jewellery or coins |
| Closing early | No lock-in; close any time | No foreclosure charge; pay interest to date |
| Branches | 25+ to 60+ cities (pages differ); Federal Bank lists Rupeek as its partner in 18 cities | Branches across major states (count not stated) |
| Online and doorstep | Doorstep valuation and pickup with transit insurance, or valuation at a partner bank branch | Gold Loan@Home (up to ₹500 charge); online top-ups via iMuthoot |
| Also worth knowing | Loans given by partner banks such as Federal Bank (also ICICI Bank and Karur Vysya Bank per its article) and by Rupeek Capital; Gold stored in partner bank vaults | Same-day disbursal in branch; Several schemes priced by ticket size |
RBI limits apply to every regulated lender: from April 2026, a gold loan for personal use can be at most 85% of the gold’s value up to ₹2.5 lakh, 80% from ₹2.5 lakh to ₹5 lakh and 75% above, with interest due at maturity counted for bullet loans. Lenders can lend less. Check how much your gold can raise with our gold loan calculator.
What a ₹1 lakh gold loan for 12 months would cost
We costed the same loan on each lender’s published rates, assuming you pay interest every month and repay the principal at the end. Paying interest less often, or compounding, raises the cost.
| Lender | Scenario | Rate a year | Interest for the year | Fees | Total cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rupeek | Rate set by the partner lender | Not published | – | Not published | – |
| Muthoot Finance | Minimum rate, interest paid monthly | 9% | ₹9,000 | See charges above | ₹9,000 + any charges |
Key differences
- Who lends: with Rupeek, the lender is usually a partner bank or Rupeek Capital, named in your sanction letter; Muthoot Finance lends itself.
- Rates: Muthoot from 9% a year if interest is paid monthly; Rupeek says the rate is set by the lender and publishes no table.
- Smallest loan: Rupeek ₹30,000; Muthoot ₹1,500.
- Doorstep: both offer home service; Rupeek’s is its core model, with insured transit to a bank vault.
Which should you choose?
Rupeek may suit you if you want a bank-backed gold loan at home and need ₹30,000 or more. Check which lender your sanction letter names.
Muthoot Finance may suit you if you need a small amount or want a published starting rate before you apply.
Whichever you pick, compare the APR in the KFS you are actually offered, not the advertised starting rate.
Before you apply
- Ask for the rate for your exact scheme and how often you must pay interest. Paying monthly is usually cheapest.
- Read the Key Fact Statement (KFS): it must show the APR, every charge and the total you will repay.
- Check the weight and purity recorded on your pledge receipt, and keep it safe.
- Know the auction rules: RBI requires notice before any auction, and the lender must return any surplus.
- Use our gold loan calculator to see the most you can borrow under RBI limits.
Want to see offers from several RBI-regulated lenders in one place?
Frequently asked questions
Is Rupeek a lender or a DSA?
Mostly a platform. Rupeek Fintech arranges gold loans from partner banks (Federal Bank lists Rupeek as a business correspondent in 18 cities), and its affiliate Rupeek Capital is an RBI-registered NBFC that also lends. Your loan documents name the actual lender.
Where is my gold kept with Rupeek?
Rupeek says pledged gold is stored with partner banks such as Federal Bank, Indian Bank and South Indian Bank, and is insured in transit.
Are these lenders RBI-regulated?
The loans described here are given by RBI-registered NBFCs or banks named in the table. Check the lender named in your loan agreement on RBI’s digital lending app list.
Where do these figures come from?
From each company’s official website and, where noted, its Google Play listing, checked on 12 October 2026. Where a company’s own pages disagree, we show both figures.
Sources
- Rupeek website
- Rupeek FAQ
- Rupeek gold loan
- Rupeek Capital
- Federal Bank gold loans (BC partners)
- Muthoot Finance gold loan
- Muthoot gold loan interest rate
Read more: Gold loan rates of 10 lenders · Gold loan calculator · All loan app reviews · Lender directory
More comparisons: Muthoot Finance vs Manappuram Finance · Muthoot Finance vs IIFL Gold Loan · Manappuram Finance vs IIFL Gold Loan · SBI Gold Loan vs Muthoot Finance · Rupeek vs Manappuram Finance · Muthoot FinCorp vs Muthoot Finance · HDFC Bank Gold Loan vs SBI Gold Loan · HDFC Bank Gold Loan vs Muthoot Finance · ICICI Bank Gold Loan vs Manappuram Finance · Federal Bank Gold Loan vs SBI Gold Loan · Kotak Gold Loan vs Muthoot Finance · KreditBee vs Moneyview · True Balance vs KreditBee · Rupee112 vs Loan112 · HDFC Bank vs Bajaj Finance · Bajaj Finance vs Tata Capital · HDFC Bank LAS vs ICICI Bank LAS · ICICI Insta FlexiCash vs Axis 24×7 FlexiCredit · Refyne vs Jify · All loan comparisons
Disclosure: FundsTiger (Gatimaan Finance Advisors Pvt. Ltd.) is a loan marketplace and lending service provider for RBI-regulated lenders. Aparampaar Finance Pvt. Ltd. (Omozing), one of those lenders, is a related party of FundsTiger. This article is general information, not financial advice. Read your loan agreement and KFS before you decide.